U.S. Open winners by participant: Who has received probably the most U.S. Open titles in golf historical past?

No golfer has received the U.S. Open greater than 4 occasions.

Victories within the event are laborious to return by for even the very best golfers. Within the different three golf majors, a minimum of one golfer in every has received a minimum of 5 occasions, and two tournaments have seen a minimum of six wins by a single golfer.

The highest of the U.S. Open record is stuffed with most of the largest names in golf historical past.

Who has received the U.S. Open probably the most in historical past? The Sporting Information dives into the numbers.

Who has probably the most U.S. Open wins?

Nobody has received extra main golf championships than Jack Nicklaus, so it ought to come as no shock that The Golden Bear is atop the record of U.S. Open winners.

Nicklaus is tied with Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones and Ben Hogan with 4 wins within the U.S. Open. Solely two golfers have received it 3 times: Hale Irwin and Tiger Woods.

Woods won’t be tying Nicklaus, Anderson, Jones and Hogan in 2022. He has already introduced that he won’t be taking part in on this yr’s U.S. Open. Brooks Koepka, who received the occasion in back-to-back years (2017 and 2018) might tie Woods and Irwin with a win.

Anderson additionally holds the file for probably the most consecutive wins with three in a row from 1903-05. John McDermott (1911-12), Jones (1929-30), Ralph Guldahl (1937-38), Hogan (1950-51), Curtis Unusual (1988-89) and Koepka are the one golfers to ever win the U.S. Open in consecutive years.

Most U.S. Open wins by participant

Twenty-two golfers have received a minimum of two U.S. Opens. Koepka turned the latest golfer to win a number of occasions when he received the 2018 version.

Golfers with a number of wins within the U.S. Open:

Golfer U.S. Open wins Years received
Willie Anderson 4 1901, 1903, 1904, 1905
Bobby Jones 4 1923, 1926, 1929, 1930
Ben Hogan 4 1948, 1950, 1951, 1953
Jack Nicklaus 4 1962, 1967, 1972, 1980
Hale Irwin 3 1974, 1979, 1990
Tiger Woods 3 2000, 2002, 2008
Alex Smith 2 1906, 1910
John McDermott 2 1911, 1912
Walter Hagen 2 1914, 1919
Gene Sarazen 2 1922, 1932
Ralph Guldahl 2 1937, 1938
Cary Middlecoff 2 1949, 1956
Julius Boros 2 1952, 1963
Billy Casper 2 1959, 1966
Lee Trevino 2 1968, 1971
Andy North 2 1978, 1985
Curtis Unusual 2 1988, 1989
Ernie Els 2 1994, 1997
Lee Janzen 2 1993, 1998
Payne Stewart 2 1991, 1999
Retief Goosen 2 2001, 2004
Brooks Koepka 2 2017, 2018

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable AdBlock to able our site.