How Many International locations Play Cricket?

Most nations on the globe play cricket in some capability, however there at the moment are 106 nationwide groups which might be linked in some method to the ICC.

Today, cricket is a worldwide sport, and the introduction of Twenty20 has expanded the household. 

The variety of nations taking part in T20 might be increasing, whereas the variety of nations with full Check standing should be fairly small.

The sanctioning organisation for permitting particular nations to take part in official matches in any of the three main varieties is the Worldwide Cricket Council.

Australia, England, and South Africa had been among the many authentic members of the Imperial Cricket Convention, which turned the Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC), which was established at Lord’s on June 15, 1909.

At first, solely Commonwealth nations had been eligible to affix. Nonetheless, later, different nations like Pakistan joined in 1953, after 1926 noticed the addition of India, New Zealand, and the West Indies.

How many countries play cricket

Attributable to their departure from the Commonwealth, South Africa resigned from the Convention in 1961.

Have A Look At: what’s written on the ipl trophy

Nonetheless, they continued to play Check cricket till their exile from worldwide competitors in 1970.

The Imperial Cricket Convention was renamed the Worldwide Cricket Convention in 1965, with new guidelines permitting for the primary time the election of countries exterior the Commonwealth into the governing physique.

Fiji and the USA had been the primary Affiliate Member nations in that yr. Sri Lanka was the primary Affiliate Member to be elected a Full Member in 1981, bringing the full variety of international locations that play Check matches again as much as seven. 

The Worldwide Cricket Council changed the ICC because the group’s title in 1989. 

Zimbabwe was elected to the ICC in 1992, Bangladesh in 2000, and South Africa was re-elected as a Full Member in 1991.

Eire and Afghanistan got Full Member (and Check) standing on June 22, 2017, bringing the full to 12.

There are 106 ICC members as of July 2021, together with 12 full members and 94 affiliate members.

All future membership functions, each full and affiliate, will likely be evaluated by the Membership Committee in accordance with a set of neutral requirements. 

There was a 3rd degree referred to as Affiliate Membership, however it was eradicated in June 2017, making Full Members and Affiliate Members the one two ranges. 

Any new member elected to the ICC would begin out as an Affiliate Member, with the potential of development to Full Member standing based mostly on continued success in worldwide competitors.

Attributable to political affect, the ICC suspended Zimbabwe Cricket from July to October 2019, marking the primary time this had occurred with a Full Member staff.

Full Members

The cricket governing our bodies of a nation or a group of associated nations that signify a area are referred to as Full Members.

All full members are entitled to ship a staff to official Check matches, are given full voting privileges at ICC conferences, and are instantly eligible to take part in ODIs and T20Is.

Additionally Learn: how nrr is calculated in ipl

Whereas the English cricket staff represents each England and Wales, and the Irish cricket staff represents your entire island of Eire, the West Indies cricket staff represents a complete of 15 Caribbean nations and territories.

Earlier than being chosen as Full Members, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Eire performed as Affiliate Members amongst these 12 international locations.

Affiliate Members

Affiliate Members are nations with well-organized cricket that don’t meet the necessities for Full Membership. Presently, there are 94 Affiliate Members.

All Associates had been certified to take part within the World Cricket League, an ICC-run event of worldwide one-day cricket that runs till 2019.

From 2019 onwards, the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and ICC Cricket World Cup Problem League will take their place.

Moreover, there are ICC Males’s T20 World Cup Qualifier competitions that function a way of qualification for the event; up till April 2018, solely certified groups acquired Twenty20 Worldwide standing.

How many countries play cricket

The ICC said in April 2018 that every one of its members could be eligible for T20I standing starting on July 1, 2018 for the ladies’s recreation and on January 1, 2019 for the lads’s recreation.

Former Members

There are 5 nations that had been ejected from the Worldwide Cricket Council after beforehand belonging as affiliate or affiliate members.

One could be curious to find what number of Asian nations take part in cricket after studying the full variety of taking part nations. In case you fall into this class, preserve studying.

The sport of cricket was invented in England. In line with the information at hand, the early 1900s had been in south-east England. 

Australia, South Africa, and the West Indies had been the opposite nations the place the game was performed on the time. 

The game has step by step gained recognition on the Asian continent as effectively. Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and India all started taking part within the sport.

Asian International locations

Asian nations like India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan earned a reputation for themselves in cricket by successful the World Cup as soon as every within the late 1900s. 

It resulted within the creation of the Asian Cricket Convention in 1983, which was tasked with increasing the sport all through the remainder of Asia. 

Bangladesh had emerged as a brand new pressure in Asian cricket by the twenty-first century. 

Presently, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Nepal all play aggressive cricket. Amongst these three international locations, Afghanistan gained notoriety by incomes a spot within the 2014 World Cup.

In 2003, the Asian Cricket Convention, which had its headquarters in Kuala Lumpur, modified its title to the Asian Cricket Council. The council has a membership of 25 nations and reviews to the ICC.

Non Asian International locations 

Cricket was first performed in England, Australia, the West Indies, and South Africa within the early twentieth century. 

The thought of making a world council got here from Abe Bailey, who was the South African Cricket Affiliation’s president on the time. 

In 1906, the Imperial Cricket Convention was established; it will definitely modified its title to the Worldwide Cricket Council. 

Over the previous 20 years, worldwide competitions have included Zimbabwe, Kenya, Eire, the Netherlands, Canada, Scotland, and the United Arab Emirates. 

The game has not too long ago gained recognition in the US as effectively. Greater than 100 nations at the moment take part on this sport and are linked to the ICC.

Three varieties are used when taking part in worldwide cricket. The three codecs are a five-day match referred to as a Check, a one-day match with 50 overs all sides referred to as a One-day Worldwide, and a 20-overs per aspect match referred to as a T-20 Worldwide. 

The latest and well-liked format throughout the earlier 5 years is T-20

Learn Extra: what’s a bio bubble within the ipl

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable AdBlock to able our site.